2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Engine stalls under load

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 10:25 PM
MAScott is on a distinguished road

I posted this on the "engine and transmission" forum yesterday but have had no response so I thought I would try it as a general question here to see if I have better luck. I am just looking for some place to start.

My son-in-law has a 97 Blazer with the 4.3 and 4 wheel drive. The motor will start and idles smoothly, but as soon as it is put in gear, it dies. I actually sounds like it is under heavy load as it will start to ping before stalling. We checked the motor for codes and there are none.
Does this sound like a motor problem or is it possible that it is the transmission? I have no experience with Blazers, being primarily a Ford man myself so I don't know if this is something that is common in these vehicles.
Any ideas?

Old 11-27-2009, 12:26 PM
Starting Member
marksoftball is an unknown quantity at this point

Hello MAScott,

There is a lot of help here for you, but you might want to post some more info
Like how many miles you have on the vehicle, and what you have done to
the vehicle for maintenance or major work. With some more background info
I am sure somebody will pitch in with something to get you started.

Mark K

Old 11-28-2009, 08:34 AM

Thanks for the reply Mark. I guess at this stage, I'm just looking for some direction as to what to look for. The Blazer has about 160,000 Km(100,000 miles) on it and, as far as I know has had only normal maintenance done to it. My Son in Law tells me that he was driving it home when it started to slow down, requiring more and more throttle until it was barely moving. He managed to get it to his mother's and into her yard. I had a chance to look at it briefly last week and took the codes (none) but wasn't able to spend more than a few moments on it.