2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

First post, help with 1999 Blazer (A/C problem)

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2009, 01:35 PM
Beginning Member
RomanCatholic is on a distinguished road
Default First post, help with 1999 Blazer (A/C problem)

I have a 1999 Chevy Blazer LT with the following problem; the A/C doesn't seem to work correctly. If I turn on the A/C it blows cold air and then hot (like engine hot) air and does this continually. Does the A/C need recharged? I had the a/c charged less than six months ago.
Yesterday the battery died and that is when this all started. It is also making a gurgling/moaning noise eminating from the glove box on the passenger side. It hasnt done that before either.
As you can probably tell, I am not a mechanic. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 07-31-2009, 03:43 PM
Beginning Member
crasy is on a distinguished road
Default i have the exact same problem

i have a 98 blazer and ive been having the same problem. did you have any luck fixing it?
EDIT: the problem seems to get worse when vehicle is running but stopped for a while. but then after i drive for a bit on the highway it blows the cold air again.

Last edited by crasy; 07-31-2009 at 03:48 PM.
Old 07-31-2009, 04:24 PM
Beginning Member

Originally Posted by crasy
i have a 98 blazer and ive been having the same problem. did you have any luck fixing it?
EDIT: the problem seems to get worse when vehicle is running but stopped for a while. but then after i drive for a bit on the highway it blows the cold air again.

Just started yesterday. No luck fixing it yet, but I am off tomorrow, gonna try recharging the a/c. I haven't had it out on the highway yet. What are your plans for fixing it?

Old 07-31-2009, 05:21 PM
Beginning Member

I was also gonna try to recharge. That will at least help narrow down the problem. Im gonna show the problem to a friend and ill post back here.