2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2008, 10:23 PM
BlackBeast is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Gas mileage

So I know this topic has been discussed before but I can't seem to find the answers I'm looking for. I drive a 2000 4door LS and recently I've been getting almost 12 mpg. I just ordered an exhaust system for it so I'm hoping that will help out a little. My goal is to get it close to 15 or more if possible. I'm not looking at spending a whole lot of money either to raise it so.

Iwould prefer cheap/inexspensive waysof doing it butif someone could tell me what they've done to increase your mpg or any suggestions to help.

Thanks

Old 12-07-2008, 11:14 PM
NVANZEE will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Gas mileage

Thats the same millage i get. I have a flomaster supper 44 but i also have 31in tires

Old 12-08-2008, 02:36 AM
BF Veteran
WolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura aboutWolfPack has a spectacular aura about

Nvanzee do you remember to include the extra mileage that the odometer is not accounting for when you do your MPG math (unless you got your PCM reprogrammed for the tires)?

BlackBeast I get about 15 with a roof rack and tire up top, brush guard, and wider A/T tires. Not starting another WHOA LOOK WHAT I GOT mpg thread, but I'm saying you should be doing a little better than 12 since youre pretty much stock.

When was your last tune up? Plugs/Wires/Distributor Cap/Rotor? That's the quickest way to get your mileage back.

Old 12-08-2008, 06:19 AM
NVANZEE will become famous soon enough

how would i calculate the difference. I know me spedo is off by 3

Old 12-08-2008, 08:10 AM
Peru Motors is an unknown quantity at this point