2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Looking to buy a 2001 Blazer LS with 103k miles on it.

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2023, 06:48 PM
Beginning Member
ShoFto is on a distinguished road
Default Looking to buy a 2001 Blazer LS with 103k miles on it.

Hi, I’m new to this forum, but the reason why i made an account here is because I might be buying a 2001 Blazer LS 4wd with 103k original miles on it. It lived most of its life in Virginia.

I have no experience with Chevys of this era, and I hope Blazer experts can help and let me know if I should buy this car, and what are some of the potential problems I might encounter.

It has the 4.3 Vortec V6, original engine. 103k miles on it. It runs great. It seems to crank normally, but it would start slowly and climb slowly to 600-700rpm. But it starts every time. The transmission shifts smooth and great, and the button activated 4x4 also work great, sometimes I have to roll the car in reverse or drive for it to engage, but it seems to work good.

The body is in excellent condition, no signs of body work or frame work. The frame has some superficial rust, but it’s also in great condition. The front driver side and the passenger side carpet seems a little damp. The back and the trunk is completely dry to the touch.

The engine oil and the Transmission fluid is clean and in great condition. The power steering fluid is nice and red, but the one thing that really concerns me is the coolant.

The coolant still has a very slight green tint to it, but the coolant is basically brown. The inside of the coolant bottle is also coated in brown. The car doesn’t overheat but the color of the coolant concerns me.

So I want to ask all the Blazer experts, is this a good buy? What are some of the potential issues that might pop up on a 22 year old blazer? Please let me know 👍