2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Looking for help with 1999 4.3 Fuel System Diagnosis

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 05:46 PM
Beginning Member
swallace8337 is on a distinguished road
Default Looking for help with 1999 4.3 Fuel System Diagnosis

I am a novice mechanic trying to get my son’s swamped 1999 Blazer 4.3 CSFI running. The vehicle was running excellent with no issues at all before the bath. It was doused in swampy water up to the top of the engine for about an hour with the front end being the deepest. There was evidence of water on the CSFI injector electrical connection boot and I’m not sure if this may have caused any damage. However, the boot was completely dry on the inside. Water did enter the engine and was removed with an oil change and new plugs installed. I dropped the fuel tank, removed the pump and checked for any signs of water contamination. The tank and pump all checked out okay. I reinstalled the fuel pump and tank without any problems. I posted earlier on this vehicle concerning the fuel pump relay. I’ve checked all fuses and relays both in the engine compartment and the IP. All test okay. The fuel pump runs with “key on” and again with “key off” for 2 seconds as designed. The engine starts and runs smooth, but only for a second or two. So at this point I figured it is either an ignition or fuel problem.

I began by checking the fuel system first and here is what I’ve tried and observed thus far:
1). The pressure at “key on” is 62 psi, but immediately drops to 53 psi when the pump shuts off.
2). I reduced the pressure on the gauge to 10 psi and found no noticeable loss of pressure after 10 minutes. (This should eliminate the pump check valve leaking).