2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

My Blazer just died :(

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2011, 09:17 PM
Beginning Member
subtlebliss is on a distinguished road
Exclamation My Blazer just died :(

Let me start out by saying I drive a 2002 Chevy Blazer 4.3lt 4dr. Shes my baby and shes always been good to me. I recently started working on her myself as repairs come entirely to costly.

2 weeks ago I replaced my fuel pump and my fuel filter. Everything got fixed and worked fine. This was quite the amazing accomplishment as I am no mechanic.

Fast forward to 3 days ago, I'm driving down the highway and all of a sudden my car kicks off. My power stays on but the engine itself shuts off. Now after a few pumps of the gas sometimes the engine will roar back up and I will continue driving. Other times it dies all the way down power and engine and ill have to stop and restart it. It usually takes at least 3 cranks at that point before it'll turn over. No more than 3 minutes tho to start it back up.

To me in my opinion it seems that when i get around or below 1500 rpm's is when it dies. So I'm constantly gassing it to keep her running.

Any input or help would be much appreciated for this diy'er.

Old 11-16-2011, 09:38 PM
ChevyBlazerChick will become famous soon enoughChevyBlazerChick will become famous soon enough

What brand Fuel Pump did you install? I've heard that Airtex pumps can sometimes crap out a couple weeks after installing it.

Old 11-16-2011, 09:43 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

2x what brand pump did ya use

We prefer delco or delphi

Old 11-16-2011, 09:47 PM
Beginning Member

It was an Airtex fuel pump.

Old 11-16-2011, 09:48 PM
Beginning Member

Whats crazy is for a week it ran just fine after the install of the fuel pump/filter. Then all of a sudden.....

Old 11-16-2011, 09:50 PM