2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

need help ASAP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 10:48 AM
Bugg31 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation need help ASAP!

Newbie here too.. Sorry for the long post...

I have a 2000 GMC Jimmy, 4.3 4WD, 135k

About 3 weeks ago, I noticed that I had no power on the throttle (like to pass somebody). Then after paying more attention to the vehicle, I realized that the motor had a light shake, more than normal. It would shake more vigorously when throttle was applied.

I am a college student and didn't have any time to work on her for about 2 weeks.

During the 2 weeks, she began to idle rougher.

In the process of doing an oil change, after filling her up with oil, went to start her, to (get a more accurate) check on the oil lvl and she didn't start. She turned over but wouldn't start.

I went back to the basics: Air, Spark and Fuel.
Fuel Pressure: 62psi
Abundant Air
Spark from Magnito to wires was there
Pulled codes: P300

So I thought it was the plugs, next day replaced plugs...
She didnt want to start, took many tries to get her started.
In trying she would stumble, shake, and backfire... when I finally got her started, she shook on idle - when throttle applied she shook worse...

over the next few days, starting her varied from starting right up to not starting at all. During this time, sometimes she would idle OK, and sometimes she would shake on idle... when given gas the intensity of the shaking varied, sometimes very rough at 2k RPM or sometimes smooth... when smooth at 2k she was rough at 4k, when rough at 2k she was extremely violent at 4k.

I have been searching for an answer for a couple days and cant find a solution.

Here is a list of what i have done:
New PCV valve
Replaced sections of vacuum lines
Cleaned EGR valve
Put heat and seafoam into gas tank