2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Newbie here. Fuel & Trani Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2016, 09:44 AM
Starting Member
justanerd is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Newbie here. Fuel & Trani Question

Hey everyone, I own a 1999 Chevy Blazer 4x4 LT. I have over 260,00 miles on it. 1 1/2 years ago I had my Trani rebuilt. Now it is starting to have problems shifting when it is cold ( after a little bit it seems to stop ) this is the same issue I had when I took it in for the rebuild just a bit worse. My question is. With the mileage I have is there any vacuum lines going to the trani that I should check first or does anyone know if I need to look at replacing the shifting sensor on the trani?

My fuel question is. Lately the gauge has been reading wrong. It bounces (or jerks) and never shows under 1/2 tank. I have read it's the float sensor and best to just buy a new fuel pump seeing as you have to get to it anyways to check the connection. Reason why I'm asking is I had a dodge van at one time I had a sensor go bad that made the vehicle cut the fuel on and off. Kinda the same feeling I'm having driving my blazer. and if the fuel pump is going out could it be making me start to stall instead of the trani problem?

Not sure if they could be related if it all make sense on the questions.

Thanks in advance
Steve

Old 04-01-2016, 11:35 AM
slimsummers is on a distinguished road

The 4L60E transmission is fully electronic controlled, no vacuum lines or adjustments to be made. I work at a trans shop, no idea what a "shifting sensor" is. The computer uses vehicle speed, engine load, etc. to determine shift points and quality. The neutral safety switch can also affect shifting if it is telling the computer you are in say D instead of OD. The actual shifting is done with electric solenoid valves, which activate hydraulically controlled valves in the valve body.