2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Sticky tach and it's over revving

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2015, 08:37 PM
Minikilla is on a distinguished road
Default Sticky tach and it's over revving

Ok so I didn't know where to post this so I hope this works here since I'm new and I hope maybe someone could help me. I'm not good with explaining but here's my best. Ok so I have a 1999 blazer 4.3L and I have 157k miles on it and lately I've been noticing a problem with my tach and it's seems to rev up by it self when I'm driving at a steady speed between anywhere from 40 to 55 I've noticed and my rpms are usually at 1500 when this happens and they also seem to be stuck there when I try to accelerate slowly the tac kinda jumps up a bit by like 2 to 300 and yea I can't seem to figure out why I already replaced the tps and now I'm not sure what else it could be.

Old 08-18-2015, 08:50 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

When the tach jumps, does the engine speed increase, or just the tach?

Is there a lack of power when engine speed increases?

Old 08-18-2015, 08:52 PM

Just the tac but I can hear the exhaust rev with it to but my speed does not jump around

Old 08-18-2015, 09:00 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

If you hear the engine speed increase when the tach jumps up, the tach is probably indicating correctly. Is the check engine light illuminated while driving? Could be transmission slipping. Have you changed the transmission fluid, filter, & gasket lately, (within the past 50K miles)? These are great transmissions, but you can't neglect them, they need to be serviced regularly. Might want to have a transmission shop take a quick look at it.

Old 08-18-2015, 09:07 PM