2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Stuck in 4H Symptoms

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2016, 07:35 PM
JeepGuy93 is on a distinguished road
Default Stuck in 4H Symptoms

I'm new to this forum, but I've been on Wrangler Forum a lot this past year. This is a Blazer I will be working on a lot, but do not own. I'm an entry auto tech, and have the tools to do anything, so I do side work in my own garage for friends and relatives.

This Blazer has many other problems that won't cost too much, but first I'd like to figure out this noise, to tell the owner if this old girl (200k miles, '97) is worth new tires, tie rods, shocks, and possibly front half shafts and diff seals, and front/rear bearings.

The noise sounds like you're driving over rumble strips, but it's not constant. The noise speeds up with vehicle speed. Does it starting at 5 MPH, up to highway speeds. happens regardless of brake pedal and skinny pedal position.

My first thought was the front hub bearings, but then I took a tight turn and did that "hop" like a part-time 4WD system does when it's engaged. 2H light is on, and I kept going between 2H, 4H, and 4L. 2H and 4H feel the same, 4L has the obvious gear ratio change (feels like 4:1).

Next step is to take it into the shop, balance the bald-*** tires to see if it helps, and see if the front axle is engaged. Plus check the tie rods more. The wheel has left-to-right play that appears to be tie rods, maybe bearings.

With the 4WD I know it's a vacuum system and there is a diaphragm under the battery. Can anybody tell me HOW MUCH vacuum it should have, and WHEN? I assume it'll get whatever vacuum the engine puts out, but I don't have the factory service manual. Also, is this a part time or full time system, and if it's part time, what will driving in 4H on the road do to it?

Last edited by JeepGuy93; 09-25-2016 at 08:17 PM.
Old 09-27-2016, 07:57 AM