2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

trans squeal after brake job

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2015, 02:09 PM
Starting Member
mrajr12691 is on a distinguished road
Default trans squeal after brake job

Hello everyone im a newbie here, created this profile in hopes that some of you familer/experts can lend some helping information.

working on my grandfathers 2003 blazer 4DR 4x4 4.3 auto, he had a caliper dragging real bad in the rear, i did pads, rotors and calipers + brackets on both rears, took it for a ride and have a herandous squeal.

thought it was either new pads/ebrake shoes wearing in to the new rotors. upon inspection this is the scenario I have:

when truck in neutral, ONE rear tire on the ground, when i turn the driveshaft i have this squeal, coming from inside the TRANSMISSION, with both tires off the ground, NO squeal, with both tires on the ground and driving in all ranges, D/R + coasting in neutral, crazy squeal.

trans fluid is perfectly clean and at the exact level.

I have no explaination or ideas to what the heck could have happened to it, PLEASE if anyone has some info I'm desperate, need this beast for a few days since i totaled my car last week, thank you very much

Old 12-04-2015, 02:11 PM
Starting Member

*and id like to add that the tranny did not make any noises before I did the rear brakes*

Old 12-04-2015, 05:06 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Are you absolutely sure that it is coming from the transmission or transfer case?