2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Vacuum hose to diaphram

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2010, 10:09 AM
gcg
Beginning Member
gcg is on a distinguished road
Default Vacuum hose to diaphram

Hi,

4wd not been engaging, after much searching, under the battery I found a daiaphram/ bellow type contraption (i'm an surgeon not a mechanic). I am presuming this is the accuator for the 4wd transmission engagement.

I also found down here a hose, about half an inch thick that sucks (literally not metaphorically) when the engines on. i am presuming this is the vaccum hose and its unattachedness is the reason I have no 4wd.

The problem is I don't know where it is suppose to attach to.

Any pictures or description would be very hepful.

Gordon

Old 12-11-2010, 10:17 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

The front axle engagement actuator is located under the battery. The vacuum lines that transfer engine vacuum are typically 1/8" or 5/16" vacuum hoses which are much smaller than 1/2".

That 1/2" hose is the intake hose for the AIR system (AIR = air injection reaction). It is the hose that is along the passenger side of the radiator fan shroud about halfway up from the bottom of the radiator. It has nothing to do with the 4wd system and is meant to be disconnected like that.

With that said, we really need to know what it is you are driving and what it has in it for a 4wd system. Please list your year and # of 4wd switch buttons in the dash.