2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

voltage trouble maybe?

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2009, 05:53 PM
Starting Member
agent305 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question voltage trouble maybe?

hi. i havent been to the forum in like a year, sorry, i just had a bunch of stuff goin on, but anyways, im havin a funny problem with the voltage in my blazer.
mind you, i've been a 12volt installer for the past 12 years so i know for sure it is somethin im over looking.

anyways, its a 2000 blazer 4x4.

the other night i was goin to the store and noticed my battery light was on, and the volts on the dash were reading 9.
the volts on my screen were reading 10 - 11.50 (which is what my meter reads also)

so it was a optima yellow top, which was 6 yrs old, and the last one i had lost a cell and the same thing happened, so without a thought, the next day i got a new one.

i put the new one in, started the truck, and it was reading the same, as the old one, and yes the battery light was on.

so, with the truck still runnin, i went back under the hood to make sure i tightened all the terminals and to collect my tools cuz it was starting to rain. like 2 minutes later, when i went in to shut the truck off, the battery light was off, and the gauge read 14, which is what it always read. so cool, right?

about a hour later i was about to go and get an oil filter, and the gauge read 9 again.
so i did the same thing as before and just let it run, but it never moved.

it starts fine, and i can drive around, but as youd guess, the wipers and windows etc...work slow due to the less voltage. but the voltage never drops below 9 (factory gauge) which in reality is probably just at 12

all the terminals are clean, and the ground is fine.

i've been super busy at work, and im kinda burnt out with all the 12volt work, so im sure im over looking something silly, (i hope) i dont wanna be chasin fusible links around