2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

What runs on the Radio circuit(s)

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2011, 01:21 PM
Starting Member
mean green machine is on a distinguished road
Default What runs on the Radio circuit(s)

Okay, so I know these blazers have all kinds of issues when it comes to electrical power. I have been fighting my power drain issue for about two months now and finally found that the radio circuit(s) is/are what have been sucking the charge out of my battery, I pulled the two radio fuses: fuse 13- 10A, and fuse 11- 20A. So a little info on my odd ball CMFI 1995 with 209,000miles on it, it has a little of all the changes that chevy made this year, OEM sterio, factory installed 6 disc CD changer, overhead temp and compass, and on and on. what are on these circuits that I know of are of course the radio and temp/ compass other than that I have not found else could be on the circuit(s) I am still tearing the dash appart to manually trace wiring....

So far before I pulled the fuses I took the 6 disc changer out and unplugged the power at the back of the radio for it as well. I put my DVOM in line and got a puny reading of .003 mA across the battery but yet I still had a drain on the system. I pulled every light in the interior that I would not need to safley operate the vehicle. IE... dome lights, kick panel lights, glove box light, map/reading lights in the temp/compass console and vanity lights in the sunvisor, under hood light. I put all the lights back in after I pulled the fuses and every thing but the radio, clock on the radio and the compass/temp work just like they are supposed to. I also have not needed to jump or put the vehicle on a charger now in four days. i was having to put it on the charger all night and if I had to work more than a 8 hour work day I would need to jump it with the " redneck jump box " I was having to carry with me.