Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

In dash tv/ overhead console gauges

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2009, 10:01 PM
Pee_Beds is on a distinguished road
Default In dash tv/ overhead console gauges

I'm not very good at taking pics while I'm working so this isn't a build thread. It's a built thread!

First up, my tv.

I was bummed out when my $70 ebay head unit purchase was a bust. (flip face motor worn out). So I sat on it for a night and then the next morning purchased a pioneer unit without navigation. (If I wanted something in the truck to tell me where to go I'd get a wife).

Along with the head unit I bought the radio delete 'cubby', harness adapter and the almost color match center insert. With the stock radio, cassette player/equalizer and 'brain box' neatly removed and tucked away on came the installation.

It was pretty straight forward, however there is a ton of wires coming out of this thing. The radio receiver for the unit is in a remote location by the ecm. I zip-tied and heatshrinked all the wires not in use and carefully pulled them out of the way as I inserted the unit. It took about 5 complete in and outs before it was in place for good. As again it is a very tight fit. I'm certain the electronics store would have told me it couldn't be done.

I'm also running a four channel amp. the rear outputs are channelled to the rear 6x9's. I went to the wreckers and cut some connectors out so I could plug and play into mine without hacking. The front output of the amp is bridged for a 10" Pioneer sub in a small sealed box. I ran the rear and sub rca's down the left side of the truck while the power cables are run down the right. It took some time to remove all the interference buzz but it's gone and hasn't been back. It all sounds quite nice.

The gauges were a lot more work than I had anticipated.