Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Headunit

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2006, 12:36 AM
TheDesertFox is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Headunit

Ok I've never worked with car audio before so please give me the 411 on everything I need to Know. I want to replace the stock headunit, to save money im just gonna stick with the stock speakers, 3 or 4 of them work OK and i can put up with them. I want a headunit that is OK, i dont need anything awsome. I plan on putting in 2 12' subs.

So can anyone tell me:
1) Can I take out/replace the headunit myself?
2) Is there a certain size/type of headunit for Blazers?
3) Do i need any kind a converters to run a new headunit or subs or an amp?
4) See anyplace where I can get some decent subs for cheap?

I want to try to do thi s for the lowest price possible but I dont want crap either.

Thanks for any help.
-Luke

Old 06-04-2006, 12:59 AM
cherryred4x4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Headunit

1) You can definitely take out and replace the headunit yourself, and save LOTS of $$. What year is your Blazer? Some of the dashes are harder to take apart than others.

2) The size is called DIN, basically all aftermarket head units you see in stores are this size. You will need a mount kit, which are cheap, this will adapt the factory dash opening to fit an aftermarket headunit. To make it as easy as possible, you can buy a wiring adapter that will plug your headunit wiring into the factory plugs, all you have to do is match up the wires between the adapter and the headunit, and theyre all labeled.

3) As long as you buy a headunit with pre-amp outputs, you can run subs without any converters.