Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Mid Range Speaker Suggestion

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 12:35 PM
MRDCSE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Mid Range Speaker Suggestion

Hello All,
I am a newbie who just purchased a 96 s-10 4 dr, 4 wheel drive. From day one only sound came out of one speaker (right rear passenger door). Fade and blance had no effect. Thinking stock radio bad, replaced with a sony cdx-gt200, with the after market pulg and play wiring harnesses. No amp or sub. Guess what, sound only from same speaker. Well I guess there is a problem with the speaker wiring or maybe there are no speakers (previous owner removed?) Anyway I will pull off the door panels this weekend and I will replace stock speakers with aftermarket and check wiring . After reviewing this site I believe there are 6.5 all around in doors, is this correct. Any suggestion as to what speakers (mid price range) to get for good sound that mount with little effort or additional speaker adaptors. Thanks to all for any input or suggestions to problem fix.

Old 09-27-2006, 01:13 PM
boomtruck97 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Mid Range Speaker Suggestion

hmm....lets see. i know the Infinitys are nice, at about $100 a set via best buy and cheaper online. i have also heard good things about SPL speakers with there 5 way 6x9 and all - power acoustiks are said to be great but only if run with an amp.

Old 09-27-2006, 01:26 PM
Administrator
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation

check out woofersetc.com, or onlinecarstereo.com. They both have pretty good listing of manufacturers. Infinity's, Diamonds, CDT Bostons Acc, MB Quart used to be pretty good for speakers, (not really subs).