Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Radio: AM works FM doesn't

  #1  
Old 10-11-2017, 05:05 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 14
JZRALNC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Radio: AM works FM doesn't

The stereo in my 2000 Blazer started acting up a couple months ago. I use an FM transmitter and listen to my iPod through a 'dead' frequency. Over time the gain gradually weakened. At max volume on the factory head unit I could barely identify what was playing because standard road noise from the highway drowned it out.

One day out of nowhere the transmitter stopped working. My first thought was the transmitter crapped out. I tested it in our other car and it's tip top. Then I noticed that igot not volume on any FM station. Not even static. Just dead air.

It is not a bad aerial or tuner ... when I press the scan button the stereo grabs onto all the local signals, there's just no volume. The BIZARRE thing of it all is that the AM band works perfectly. What's more is that it's louder than bombs. That tells me it's not the speakers (which I replaced in the past year).

I work for a radio station and this has even baffled the in-house engineers. Any thoughts? I have no qualms albout replacing the head unit, I just want to make sure that it will have FM once it's installed.
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-2017, 07:12 PM
chevyriders's Avatar
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 825
chevyriders is on a distinguished road
Default

The factory head units are notoriously failure prone. While I've never had your specific issue with one- it seems very likely that it is the issue. I can't see any other point in the system that could be failing to cause the fm band to drop out completely.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-2017, 01:13 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
Default

Beyond the head unit you only have the wiring (power, speakers) None of that would cause that to happen, as I am sure you area already aware of.
The HU is toast, put in a new one
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-2017, 11:45 AM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,031
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

You can try to pick up a replacement (OE) radio at a wrecking yard. That is what I did when my radio crapped out and caused a short that disabled many of the gauges on my instrument cluster and HVAC system. I found two nickles in the radio that I can only guess were put there by the PO's kids. I suspect these had finally got knocked loose and shorted something out.

On eBay you can buy refurbished OE radio/CD players in which the seller has added an AUX jack for people to connect players and phones.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-2017, 10:57 PM
odat's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: wyoming
Posts: 945
odat is on a distinguished road
Default

Welcome to the world of cold solder joints
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
trail_blazer
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
2
02-10-2013 02:52 AM
lazer2000
Lighting & Electrical
8
09-16-2012 11:16 PM
matt94
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
4
11-21-2011 09:22 PM
4good
Audio/Video Electronics
1
04-01-2011 08:06 PM
Kage0113
General Chat
2
08-19-2008 01:37 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio: AM works FM doesn't


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.