Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Radio harness questions

  #1  
Old 04-07-2018, 08:15 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 4
Phinex60 is on a distinguished road
Default Radio harness questions



2000 s10 blazer. Didn't have a radio when bought it. Was installing a double din. Saw the wires to the right sticking so I made due with what I knew, a few I guessed at. Got no power. While pulling on the wires another harness fell out. So i got a wired harness on the left and a cluster of unknown wires on the right . I believe they had a amp at one time , but I've never wired a radio with so many wires. I've looked up color identities but one harness by itself doesn't have enough wires, and both together is to many. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 

Last edited by Phinex60; 04-07-2018 at 08:19 PM. Reason: Misspelled words
  #2  
Old 04-08-2018, 12:38 AM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,036
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

The harness with the red part could be for a remote cassette or CD player. It looks to be coming from where my remote cassette player harness originated from inside the dash.

If available, I'd be tempted to cut out a stock harness end and undo the butcher job on the cut up harness. Then with the stock harness repaired, I'd get one of those adapter harnesses that plug into the OEM plug.

I'd also use proper crimp connectors or solder with heat-shrink.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-2018, 12:56 AM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,036
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

I've attached some scans of pages from my 1999 manual. (Don't mind the file name, the page numbers are messed up)
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-2018, 07:30 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 4
Phinex60 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you very much. Didn't even think about the external cassette player. Was a little overwhelmed with how different this setup was from anything I've messed with. Thank you for the scans. On to a replacement harness and multimeter time to see what else the previous owner messed up.
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-2018, 12:42 PM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,036
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by Phinex60 View Post
Thank you very much. Didn't even think about the external cassette player. Was a little overwhelmed with how different this setup was from anything I've messed with. Thank you for the scans. On to a replacement harness and multimeter time to see what else the previous owner messed up.
Oh good. I'm glad my input helps.

A note on the remote cassette harness, if you try to pull on it, it won't come because it is secured to a hard-point deep in the dash. (Don't ask me how I learned that!) If you are deleting the remote cassette player, you can find little cubbies that take their place.

When my stock radio went out, I decided to replace it with another and then use the remote cassette player to use a cassette player to MP3 adapter. People also will sell refurbished OEM radios with MP3 jacks in the front panel. Can you tell I'm way to cheap to even think about installing a properly modern radio? LOL

EDIT: Be sure to post if my schematics helped and if the wire color codes worked for you truck.
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:16 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 4
Phinex60 is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry took son long to get back. Life go busy lol. The scans where a great help. Ended up having to run a independent power and ground wire. They wouldn't power the radio. Had a lot of dark green and blue. Radio powers on, and tell it gets station signal, but no sound, or static. Also speedo only worked when radio is on. I think I hooked the wire that does the volume to speed to a speaker. Same color. Going to check that soon. Also realized some of these models have amps and without it hooked up or bypassed correctly I'll get no sound. So that's two projects to take soon. At least I know the head unit works. Half way there, and some good laughs. I'll continue to update as I dive in.
 
  #7  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:06 PM
christine_208's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 2,036
christine_208 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by Phinex60 View Post
Sorry took son long to get back. Life go busy lol. The scans where a great help. Ended up having to run a independent power and ground wire. They wouldn't power the radio. Had a lot of dark green and blue. Radio powers on, and tell it gets station signal, but no sound, or static. Also speedo only worked when radio is on. I think I hooked the wire that does the volume to speed to a speaker. Same color. Going to check that soon. Also realized some of these models have amps and without it hooked up or bypassed correctly I'll get no sound. So that's two projects to take soon. At least I know the head unit works. Half way there, and some good laughs. I'll continue to update as I dive in.
Do you know if your Blazer came with an extra amp? I might be able to find schematics for that set up too.
 
  #8  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:22 PM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 4
Phinex60 is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry, unsure. The radio was long gone before I got it, and the previous owner wasn't good at car care, or maintaince. When I bought it in had to replace both upper ball joints bearings pitman arm (I'll never do that again ), left rear no break pad half caliper gone, all fluids and filters, and plug and plug wires. It was a mess, only paid 500 for it.I know he had a after market amp, and I know that model if it's equipped is under the consol . Going to tear into that next week. Like I said, a T total mess, but running great now. I plugged up rear wiper and roof console with compass display went blank and radio fuse blew. Got the radio and upper console fixed will tear into wiper later. Figured radio would be simple, like the cars from the 80s but those wires sure have procreated since then lol.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
drumminsoul
Audio/Video Electronics
1
01-13-2012 04:16 AM
JMV5171195
Lighting & Electrical
0
07-20-2011 11:44 AM
cozmo311x
Lighting & Electrical
0
05-20-2011 01:04 PM
sobedrinker
Audio/Video Electronics
0
01-11-2010 02:47 PM
GrEeNeyedBLAZERbabe
Audio/Video Electronics
3
04-14-2007 08:56 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio harness questions


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.