Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Radio Static?

  #1  
Old 03-23-2007, 01:29 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 7
Daytona is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Radio Static?

I had a kenwood head unit installed in my 2001 Blazer, more times then none every radio station had a faint static to it. It did not do it all the time, some days it was clear as day. Recently i bought a new head unit it is a JVC, now i am having faint static to every radio station which has not gone away since the new head unit. Im 100% sure all connections are secure and tight so im not exactly sure what could be causing the issue. Any ideas i can try would be great. I have a JVC head unit with two 12' pioneer subs and a 1700 watt kenwood amp, could these be causing the interference with the radio stations?.
 
  #2  
Old 03-23-2007, 02:23 AM
Administrator
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Zanesville oHIo
Posts: 2,931
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation
Default RE: Radio Static?

sometimes the radio reception just cusks. get an antenna booster from your local parts store. probably about 2o bucks.
 
  #3  
Old 03-23-2007, 02:33 AM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
BOTTOMFEEDER MINIS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

im having the same problem as u describe
 
  #4  
Old 03-23-2007, 05:13 AM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 210
Zygoat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

it could be alot of things,all of the products you metioned are good ones so i doubt that they are to blame, tho it is possible. i doubt if an antenna booster will work becasue the jvc deck should have good components in it and should be able to pick up the signal well. but it is an option. it is more likly that the power being supplied has noise, in other wordsundesied transmissions through the power lines and thus all of the lines in the stero system. i have never had this problem personaly but i know there must be many devices to "clean up" the power in a vehicle given the popularity of car audio. i am positive they have them for home systems
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-2007, 04:07 AM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location:
Posts: 203
DankBlazer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

Same problem in my kia after I got my alpine deck installed, I always had clear radio stations and now they're all filled with bad reception, i've never checked the wires though, so there could be a loose wire somewhere.
[align=left] [/align]
 
  #6  
Old 03-24-2007, 09:13 AM
Administrator
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Zanesville oHIo
Posts: 2,931
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation
Default RE: Radio Static?

I have checked wires in many trucks, the fm sensitivity is better on factory radios. If you go to an auto parts store or place like that and get a antenna booster, it will most likely take care of the problem. I have about 5 on hand at all times in the shop for cases like this.
 
  #7  
Old 03-24-2007, 03:42 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 7
Daytona is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

The undesired transmissions through the power wires is something i might check into. I have a very hefty power wire going from the front of the car all the way to the back running into a capcitor. Actually my power wire isnt directly connected to my battery, it is connected to the fuse box (the one under the hood) could this be the issue not enough raw power?

Edit: What is a antenna booster? How does it hook up?
 
  #8  
Old 03-24-2007, 10:06 PM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location:
Posts: 77
bigjsp is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

How old are the plug wires?

Any chance the humidity was up on the noisy days?

does it go away after driving?
 
  #9  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:12 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 7
Daytona is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

Everything is fairly new, rain sleet or snow clouds or no clouds, i always have static in everystation. Parked or driving.

ORIGINAL: bigjsp

How old are the plug wires?

Any chance the humidity was up on the noisy days?

does it go away after driving?
 
  #10  
Old 03-25-2007, 04:09 AM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 210
Zygoat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Radio Static?

i have never found fm sensitivity to be lower in aftermarket decks. i always fornd that my after market decks had way better fm sensitivity than any of my stock decks. i am not saying hillbilly is wrong but i have never found it. he is right tho if that is the problem, an antenna booster will fix it. it is relativly cheep and worth a try. (they can be found at radio shack, just ask them and they will help you out). basicly every connection in any system is a weak point, the better connections you use the better the signal, also good sheileded cables will help alot to reject unwanted interfireence. more important than all is good grounds, good quality grounds will do the most to fix your problem.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio Static?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.