Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Shopping spree?

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 06:21 PM
grevey is on a distinguished road
Default Shopping spree?

So, I'm completely new to sound systems. I've been looking and looking for ideas for enclosures, hardware, effects and have only gotten confused.

I have around $1000.00 to spend on a system for my 1998 4 door S10 Sport Blazer. Here's the list of what I want:

DVD player
Lcd Screen - In dash, as big as possible.
Multi-disc cd changer
The best sound possible - with the ability to switch from LOUD to Superb Quality.
Integration of 360/PS2
Mobile Wi-Fi/CarPC

I share this vehicle w/ my Fiance..She listens to contemporary christian and I listen to heavy metal grunge..it has to suit both of our needs.

I do NOT want a HUGE box in my cargo area. I haul things all the time/go on trips/go camping and need this area.

Could I get some input on what I could do with this amount of money? Am I being naive about the costs here?

Old 08-26-2010, 09:17 AM
Starting Member
JShark is on a distinguished road

thats alot for $1000, if you wanted to hit that mark with all that you would have to drop a couple things and go with all cheap stuff. theres guys on here that spent $1000 on just and amp or two subs. i myself, im not into cheap stuff so hopefully my post will get some of the other guys that tried low budget units.

if you have never been on sonicelectronix check it out because all there audio stuff is alot cheaper then bestbuy, or places like that.

as what you should get sub wise, a 10 or 12 in a sealed box. i myself recommend an alpine type r. they get busy with the gain up and sound good with the gain down.

they also carry RE audio, iv heard great things about there subs. good idea on the carputer. i was looking at getting one myself.

Old 08-29-2010, 10:12 AM