Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

What amp would I need?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2011, 04:37 PM
IanD is on a distinguished road
Question What amp would I need?

Could somebody tell me what amp I can get? I really only need it to power my sub which is a Infinity Kappa 120.1se, also have polk db651s in the front and plan on putting some in the back.. specs are:

- Impedence - 4 OHMS,
- Power handling (peak) - 1200w
- Power handling (RMS) - 300W
- Sensitivity - 94dB
- Frequency Response (± 1.5dB) - 20Hz-250Hz
- Frequency Response (±3dB) - 20Hz - 250Hz

I am a noob at this stuff, so any help would be nice.. not looking to spend much aswell.

Also any other things i need to put the amp in? like what gauge wire etc.?

thanks in advance

Old 11-19-2011, 08:24 PM
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough

IMHO a good 4 channel amp would be the best way to go. You could use two channel's to power your db651's and bridge the remaining two channels to power your sub. I think you'd get the best results doing that for several reasons. You'll get louder and cleaner sound from your 651's by powering them with an external amp instead of the HU. It could very well save you some money and trouble as I think you'd find that you won't need your rear speakers anymore anyway. Lastly it leaves some versatility for upgrades later.

A good 4 channel amp with about 75-100wrms per channel should fit the bill. What's your budget for amp?

Old 12-22-2011, 05:58 PM

Sorry for the extremely late reply, I had no idea anyone had replied to this until now. I really don't have much of a budget at all, I'm not really an audiophile I just like to have some bass in my music (more than the speakers can produce) but not so much that others outside can hear. I was looking at this, seeing as it's an extremely low-cost amp.