Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

what connector to use

  #1  
Old 03-04-2014, 11:42 AM
er0ck273's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 629
er0ck273 is on a distinguished road
Default what connector to use

i bought a new headunit,(backordered) so im buying all the extra accessories so i can have everything ready for when it gets it here, i am installing microbypass unit which will add an extra wire to the power antenna wire and the ground wire (3 wires instead of 2)

what connector should i use, granted they are all connected in parallel? I thought of using the red butt splice connecter and putting 2 into 1 side and 1 from the harness on the other side.

i would solder, but im not the best at it lol

thanks in advance!
 
  #2  
Old 03-07-2014, 07:26 PM
er0ck273's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 629
er0ck273 is on a distinguished road
Default

any one? lol
 
  #3  
Old 03-07-2014, 07:58 PM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

I've never had to mess with a HU that required all that crap to get the video to display. The two JVC's I've messed with simply required the appropriate wire be connected to ground to work and bypass the parking brake switch. They didn't require that apply, release apply crap. That being said, I don't see how or why the microbypass is required either. Simply hide a small pushbutton switch like this one in the center console wired to the appropriate wires. Then all you have to do is press the switch a couple of times and voila it's bypassed.

As for the connectors, any widely available crimp connector would do. There's no reason it would require anything special.
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-2014, 09:55 PM
er0ck273's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 629
er0ck273 is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by altoncustomtech View Post
I've never had to mess with a HU that required all that crap to get the video to display. The two JVC's I've messed with simply required the appropriate wire be connected to ground to work and bypass the parking brake switch. They didn't require that apply, release apply crap. That being said, I don't see how or why the microbypass is required either. Simply hide a small pushbutton switch like this one in the center console wired to the appropriate wires. Then all you have to do is press the switch a couple of times and voila it's bypassed.

As for the connectors, any widely available crimp connector would do. There's no reason it would require anything special.
the only reason im going with microbypass is because its automatic, no switching and no turning the ignition twice to make it override. the newer ones are alot harder to bypass, i would have to by a relay and hook the same three wires up and then a switch, then do the ignition trick and switch at the same time.

the mbp works with a double pulse, which tricks the newer headunits. my jensen i have now you just pull up the hidden menu and turn the parking brake setting off, which explains how cheap it is haha

i was thinking about using these connectors
Robot Check Robot Check
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-2014, 10:08 AM
altoncustomtech's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Monroe City, IN
Posts: 932
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough
Default

Those connectors are just plain jane crimp on connectors and anything like them will work fine for inside the car. Now if you ever plan to make connections like that on the outside of the car I highly suggest getting some like THESE. They have a heat shrink over them with a water/chemical proof sealant in it that seals the connection from the elements. Otherwise inside it doesn't really matter on the inside of the vehicle.

As for switching the ignition twice, I didn't see that in the manual for the Pioneer, only that the brake had to be applied, released and applied again to start the video mode.

I grabbed this right out of the manual for the unit:

 
Attached Thumbnails what connector to use-pioneermanualscreenshot_zps653d84da.jpg  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Doctorvette
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
10
11-05-2012 11:57 PM
Terry W
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
5
04-10-2008 02:37 PM
USMaverick101
General Tech Help
1
11-07-2006 03:15 PM
pilgrim
General Tech Help
7
11-06-2006 11:06 AM
dashyman
General Tech Help
12
07-25-2006 01:53 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: what connector to use


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.