Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Wiring Looms - where are they?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 01:22 AM
Beginning Member
paulf707 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Wiring Looms - where are they?

Hi all - I'm a Chevy Newbie!

I've got a UK model '99 Chevy Blazer, and I've got a few (fairly minor) electrical mods I want to do. I'm fairly competent with electrics in general, but not very familiar with the Chevy (yet!).

Can anyone tell me if there are any 'easy' locations to access various parts of the wiring looms to make changes (ideally without having to remove dashboards etc).

The wires I'm looking to find are:

[ul][*]The speaker connections coming from the stereo (I would like to disconnect all the door and dash speakers, and connect some external speakers) I've read the posts on changing the stereo (which I'm not intending to do) and these all involve removing the dash. Is it possible to pick up the wiring loom somewhere else under the dash and cut into the speaker wires?[/ul]

[ul][*]The power supply to the 'auxillary power' sockets below the dashboard (they are currently wired to be permanently on, and I'd prefer them to go off when the ignition is off). I use these to power Sat Nav etc, and it would be more convenient if these shut off automatically when I open the doors (as the stereo does)[/ul]

[ul][*]The wiring coming from the front doors (I'd like to find the wires that control the folding wing mirrors, and trigger them to open/close automatically using a relay).[/ul]
If anyone can give me any clues on where these wiring looms can be found, and if possible the relevant colours of the applicabale wires, then I'd be very grateful.

Cheers,

PaulF

Old 06-21-2007, 06:38 AM
Administrator