Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

Just picked up a 1991 Jimmy 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2011, 04:38 AM
Beginning Member
Jbar is on a distinguished road

Well I am new to the world of the Jimmy and Blazer family, but when I heard my dad was selling his, I went over to have a look at it and fell in love with the size, styling and not to mention the body and interior are in great shape aside from the odd bit of rust on her.... that will be gone soon enough. The truck has 320k on it, a bit high, but runs strong.... but could use a tune up. She needs a new front bumper to vastly improve the look and new rear brakes along with a brake line repair... which is located somewhere in the rear, haven't even looked for it yet and not really concerned.

I'll post pics as I go along with my improvements and any modifications.

High priority things to do

-Rear brakes/fix or replace brake line that is leaking in the rear
-New front bumper from scrap yard
-Fix rust on front doors
-Do the rear brakes- front was done 1st day I got it... wasn't safe to drive)
-New front left brake caliper mount- we found the screw stripped the top part that secures the brakes. Bottom is still fine, but should not be driving it
-New windshield- has a crack along the bottom, but does not effect vision
-Tune up
-New power window motor- this item is not major, but just makes life a little quicker
-Get a new GMC grill. It seems to have been replaced with a chevy grill, likely what messed up the bumper.
New tires, thinking of upgrading to 31's any suggestions? This truck is stock so I'm wondering if 31's will even fit on.

I'll keep you posted with my progress and pics to make sure I actually get everything done! I have loftier things I want to do to the truck later on, but this is my current to do list.

Ps. The truck cost me 500, is black and will be my new baby