Builds Whether you are building something new or rebuilding something old, post up your build threads here. Open to all projects!

Reluctant Budget Blazer Project

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2012, 12:54 PM
69Deville is on a distinguished road

This is my first build thread, although it is debatable that I am actually building anything.

The project: mom's 1998 Blazer LS 4x4 4.3 2 dr with 95k on it. She hates it when I get ideas for her Blazer.

The Blazer was bought August 2008 for a steal with only 76k on the clock, 1 previous owner and a like new interior. As you can see from the pics, that previous owner liked the color red. And silver pinstriping around ALL the windows. And any chevy sticker ever made. It was hit from behind over a year later and that's when we got the red painted to match the rest of the car.

To catch up: one of the first mods done to the car was sunroof -- a mom approved addition. This was probably the most expensive non-needed, non-repair mod done to the car.

It looks so much better in all black!! After the paint I decided on a black/silver/chrome look for the truck. Tow hooks were spray bombed with some Rustoleum aluminum paint. A black vanity plate with chrome/mirror bowtie was stuck on the front.

I also added the clear front turn signal lenses and get some very euro-y chrome/clear taillights.

I almost forgot. I traded the zr2-ish wheels that came with it for the s10 wheels to make 'em stick out a little -- so much better that way imo. Also, I got $150 for the factory wheels on craigslist and only paid $60 for the 2wd wheels at a swap meet. But then again I must have paid $100 for those damn plastic lug nut covers.

Also, the spare tire was mounted on the rear gate like usual but wow you cannot see out the back with that there. I scored an inside tire mount from a blazer in the junkyard!