Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Looking to put in a new engine

Old 12-24-2010, 06:25 PM
THAGOLDENB is on a distinguished road
Default Looking to put in a new engine

I have a 1979 k5 Blazer. I believe it has a 400 carburetor in it right now or a 350 it sounds dumb but idk Im new to chevys so Im unsure I think its a 350 with a 4 barrel. Anyways I was wondering what kind of motors I can swap in my truck and how difficult it is to switch over to fuel injected. Any input would be great!

Old 12-24-2010, 06:34 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

You can swap in pretty much any GM small block or big block.

As far as fuel injection goes, you can definitely make the conversion, but how easy it is depends on how much money you want to spend.

Old 12-24-2010, 06:40 PM
84BlazerS10 is on a distinguished road

That motor and carb size sounds about right. If I'm not mistaken any V8 will fit pretty easy in that car but, maby someone with more knowledge can shine some light on this subject.

Old 12-25-2010, 09:44 AM
THAGOLDENB is on a distinguished road

thanks for your guys inputs!

Old 12-25-2010, 05:36 PM
blueblazer1982 is on a distinguished road

put a diesel in . 6.2L or 6.5

Old 12-25-2010, 08:44 PM
BF Guru
old skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of lightold skool luvr is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by swartlkk