Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Tranny issue.

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2006, 01:00 AM
Lilcheef is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tranny issue.

Hello folks. I am new to y'alls boards as well as the Blazer world. I am actually having some issues. I bought a Blazer from my uncle with 143k miles. The other day the tranny stopped working. The filter was clogged by something. So I replaced whatever fluid came out as well as the filter and it ran fine. Tonight after I got home, I was going back and forth over the snow to pack down the snow so I could get out (I was not just slamming it between gears I was stopped before engaging reverse or drive.). After the like 3rd time of doing this reverse just wouldn't engage... Give it gas, it would just sit there... Wouldn't change with any range (2hi 4hi or 4lo). I tried the rest of the gears and they worked fine. So my question, what gives?? Any advice would be nice... I love the truck but if I can't fix this I ain't keepin it lol.Thanks y'all.

EDIT -- I forgot to mention, the dipstick tube hasquite a bit of rust in it! I was told that it's almost normal for the blazers from this year cause it was a common problem. Could rust falling from this be enough to clog a filter? I would sure hope not. What else could be wrong??

Old 11-30-2006, 09:30 PM
Default RE: Tranny issue.

So no one has any ideas huh. Wierd I don't know what to think about this. I am liking the truck but obviously without reverse it's kinda useless.

Old 11-30-2006, 10:15 PM
4lowlife is on a distinguished road

I would check the shift linkage under the Blazer.

Old 12-03-2006, 04:15 AM

Ok. So I checked the linkage on the shifter and from what I could tell everything looked fine. I am going to take the pan off and look inside when it gets a little warmer out there. Any other idears in the mean time?

Old 12-03-2006, 10:22 AM
MNHawk is an unknown quantity at this point