Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

02 blazer 4.3 spitten and sputtering

Old 06-12-2017, 09:37 PM
Liftedjeep33 is on a distinguished road
Default 02 blazer 4.3 spitten and sputtering

Hi everyone im new to this so please help me out if possible
I have a 02 blazer with the 4.3 vortec with 139000 it all started with a small drip in the fuel return line so fixed that and put a new fuel filter on then it didnt want to idle and it had a very strong odor of gas so i took it to my uncle thats a mechanic he put his fuel pressure gauge on it and it was pumpin 83lbs of pressure on idle so i drove it a couple days hoping to clear up but never did now it wont idle and if you give it more than 1/4 throttle it starts spitten sputtering and backfireing. Has anybody ever had this problem or have any suggestions on what i should do next idk if its a bad fuel pump now or could it be a injector cause now on the fuel pressure test its bounceing all around from 42-80 Thats after putting on the new fuel pressure regulator.

Old 06-13-2017, 05:20 AM
BF Veteran
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough

fuel pressure test, engine off key on. should be 58-65 lbs. turn key off and it shouldnt drop below 55 for 10 minutes. post results

Old 06-13-2017, 12:28 PM

It bounces from 40-50.but dont drop wuth key off

Old 06-13-2017, 04:40 PM
BF Veteran

40-50 no good, takes 50 lbs to open poppets on injectors.

Old 06-14-2017, 05:14 AM

So what are u thinking bad fuel pump?

Old 06-14-2017, 05:29 AM
BF Veteran

possible

Old 06-14-2017, 06:39 AM
FMB42 is on a distinguished road

That you mention a 'very strong odor of gas' indicates that you might well have a leak at the fuel filter and/or the return line. Even the slightest leak at the fuel filter fittings will, understandably, result in a drop in the fuel pressure. Any and all fuel system leaks should, of course, be your first and foremost concern at this point.