Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

2002 blazer 4x4 issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2020, 08:26 AM
fredsblazer is on a distinguished road
Default 2002 blazer 4x4 issues

I recently purchased a 2002 blazer with 302000km it runs solid drives good, but issue I'm having is with 4x4 I push the button you can hear a click and then appears to be in 4x4 I climbed under and tried to spin front drive shaft, and it was engaged in the transfer case, did it in 2 hi and it was free, I looked at the actuator under that battery tray and the cable is free and not seized, but it does absolutely nothing.. i noticed that it is full of some sort of oil, and I'm wondering what the issue could be, I'm new to these vehicles, I noticed on drivers side by fender there was a vac line that isnt connected to anything when I covered it and hit 4x4 the actuator went to engage, could this be my problem I know I need a new actuator as this one is buggered,

this is the vac line i fiund thats hissing
i plan on having it into shop but if it's something i can figure out on my own, that do be great, thanks for any help

Last edited by fredsblazer; 04-14-2020 at 10:10 AM.
Old 04-14-2020, 11:12 AM
Starting Member
okaussie is on a distinguished road

Off of that white one way valve you should have two lines. One goes to the transfer case switch, and the other goes to a "T" fitting. There one goes to the reservoir in the fender behind the ABS, and the other goes to a connector in a wiring harness that goes to the HVAC Control Module in the cab.
The is all dependent on if you have the three button 4x4 on the dash. If it is the 4 button, maybe someone else can help.