Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

4x4 not engaging

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2007, 09:02 PM
thirteen_engines is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 4x4 not engaging

Hi folks. I'm new to the world of 4x4's and Blazers.

I have a '99 Blazer that was treated pretty rough and is in need of some TLC. Had a broken axle and bearing replaced and the front diff overhauled, new tires and new windshield. Running much smoother now but .. can't seem to get it to go into 4HI or 4LO. In fact none of the drive indicators, 2HI, 4HI, or 4LO is lit.

I like to do my own maintenance and repairs if possible so I'm wondering if this is something I could check out for myself to at least have some idea of what the source of the problem might be. Trying to get ready for winter .. pretty nasty here sometimes. 4x4 would sure come in handy.

Old 10-01-2007, 09:25 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: 4x4 not engaging

If nothing is lit, you need to verify that there is power to the switch in the dash. We recently had a member resolder the joints in his switch and it fixed all of the problems he was having. If your light blinks and returns to the previous mode, then you have a problem elsewhere, but sounds like you have something either in the switch or in the fuse that powers the switch. Check both in the underhood fuse block as well as the fuse block off the end of the dash on the driver's side.

Old 10-04-2007, 12:30 PM