Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

'92 S-10 4dr, 700r4 auto problems, need help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2011, 08:08 PM
Gil_87 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation '92 S-10 4dr, 700r4 auto problems, need help.

Hi all, its been a while since i've tried to get some help here with my 700r4 trans in my '92 blazer 4.3L.

I will try to put up a video in the next few days to show a little more of whats wrong.

My trans went out a few months back and with the income I barley get as a student I havent been able to pay for a rebuilt trans or the labor ($800-900 range) So i'm getting ready to drop the trans and install a used/new one next pay.

Here is where i need a little more help, because I don't have any extra money at the moment or in the near future. My transmission made my truck overheat about a month or two ago and i was barley able to get the truck home, it felt as if the trans was slipping horribly bad, I had to pull over twice to let it cool and call AAA the last 45miles home.

I get home and check all hoses, check for any leakage and fluid level is normal, there is nothing out of the ordinary the fluid is a maroon color but not very dark. I do a fluid/filter change and the pans magnet is thickly coated with metallic sludge, I'm guess this is very bad, being that i'm definitely no real mechanic. Start the truck, let it run then try to drive. It goes about 1 mile then slows to a crawling 1-2mph barley enough to get home a couple blocks. I cant touch the gas because the car feels like it wants to stall and go out.

I am able to shift into all gears with little problem and reverse works faster than the forward gears. The truck will only move under idling power. I have the truck in PARK and manually pull the throttle a little under the throttle body and the truck wants to stall. Why does it want to stall in park? It stalls when in gear and i try to give it gas. Now when my truck starts it will run really hard.