Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

97, blazer no reverse, two gears. trans questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2009, 04:38 PM
Beginning Member
moldeck is on a distinguished road
Default 97, blazer no reverse, two gears. trans questions

I am new to the blazer forum. Love forums...... I am gone for the weekend but WILL be back for all your help.
Blazer will not go into reverse, has a whine when started and gets louder in Rev. will not shift into OD. It is currently in my garage with the transfer case off, so I do not have any way to get codes. I am wondering about the cooler lines, there is a plastic washer on the outside of the nut. What is that doing and how do I remove the lines?? I have not tried to just wrench it off yet. Is there anything special I need to know past the cooler lines? Man thoes two bolts at the top were a pain to get out with the trans. case on...

One more question, I have been getting a whine out of the passenger front wheel. when you turn of the 4hi, the noise goes away. I changed the wheel bearing about 4 months ago and did not fix this noise. am I looking at the front axle something?? By the way it no longer locks the front wheels when in 4 wheel.

Old 11-21-2009, 02:28 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Classic sun shell failure. I bet you only have 1st & 3rd gears.

The cooler lines likely have quick connect fittings. You will need to slide back the plastic ring and then remove the retaining clip.

Your noise is likely from a partially engaged front axle engagement collar.