Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

97 Running a bit rough

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2010, 10:32 PM
Bjenkins81 is on a distinguished road
Default 97 Running a bit rough

The truck was staling out a few days ago. I had a new Cat put on it, and it hasn't stalled since, but it still doesnt seem to be running quiet right., seems sluggish. Is there any immediate things I should be looking at? The only codes I am getting are an EVAP code cause my case cap refuses to seal (even after being replaced), and a transmission code cause my Solenoid is going bad. I have already cleaned my MAF, EGR, and Throttle body since having the Cat installed, and I am out of ideas.

Secondly, regarding the Trans. Solenoid, is this a hard thing to do? I have a fair amount of experience working on cars, but I am far from a whiz mechanic. And is this something that needs ro be dealt with asap? The truck seems to shift fine 90% of the time, but does sometimes jerk when shifting. Thanks for any info you all might have. I will continue my search through other posts for a solution, just didn't want to start replacing things that weren't necessary.~Brian

Note: My "Service engine soon" light only seems to come on when I am at 3/4 or less for fuel. (not sure if that means anything)

Last edited by Bjenkins81; 10-14-2010 at 11:07 PM. Reason: additon
Old 10-14-2010, 11:26 PM
Starting Member
blazerpower is on a distinguished road

have you done a tune up yet? what about replace the fuel filter? have you tried running any fuel injector cleaner through the system? do you know the exact codes to your evap and transmission problems?

Old 10-15-2010, 12:04 AM
69chevelle is on a distinguished road

97 doesn't have a pre cat yet does it? they can become clogged as well.

Old 10-15-2010, 12:09 AM

I did a tune up, changed fuel filter, and have fuel injector cleaner in my tank at the moment.

Old 10-15-2010, 06:28 AM
Administrator