Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

99 4x4 V6 Automatic Nd Be Shifted Manually

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2016, 09:20 AM
Starting Member
silverbonn is on a distinguished road
Unhappy 99 4x4 V6 Automatic Nd Be Shifted Manually

Hi, all. Female noob here. (Am of the gen where girls took Home Ec & boys Auto-Shop. FYI: Know'g how to bake bread is of no help when stranded on the side of the road. (LOL? NOT!!!)
First, I ADORE my Blazer & on my 2nd, both via Craig's List w/ same specs, only diffs being trim, yr & mileage. My 1st, a '97 LS (a truly great ride), was totalled after a month (sniff), rcvd acceptable reimbursement from other driver's insurance co & found/bought another. This time w/ Basic trim, 2 yrs younger (a '99) & less than 100K miles til I drove the 4 hrs home..
Advertised as being seller's "Grandfather's Baby," the interior was perfect & my "Mr. Fix-It" friend, a former used car salesman, gave the engine a once over & checked under car for the obvious: rust, leakage signs, etc. Took it for a test drive & loved its "zip"... a smooth & comfy ride for me & my 2 dogs.
2 months later was driv'g home from a med app't, an 1+1/2 hrs ea way (I live in "Bum (ahem) Egypt," NM, btw) when my tachometer suddenly hit the "Red Zone" when I was going the speed limit -- 70 mph.
Tho' I knew little abt cars, when a part died on my other vehicles I'd watch the mechanic & learned all I could abt the part. Coz all my prior vehicles were OLD -- approx 30 yrs old, a 71 Toyota & a 70-somethg Datsun, I've learned quite a bit! (LOL? NOT!)
So when my tach hit Red I knew enuff to pull over til I calmed down, then gingerly drove the remaining 1/2 hr hm @ 35 mph in 3rd gear w/ hazards on, much to the wrath of those trapped behind me. (I'd pull over if allowed @ a lineup of 3.)
FINALLY made it hm, 3 hrs later, parked, went into my house & took a bubble bath, trying to de-stress. (Didn't work, despite candles, wine & Enya.)