Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Engine Ticking NEED HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2012, 12:35 AM
Beginning Member
94tahoe95lt is on a distinguished road
Default Engine Ticking NEED HELP!

I have an ticking sound coming from the driver side front of my engine. Originally we thought it would be a lifter so I had all of the lifters replaced. This did nothing for the ticking sound, tried marvel mystery oil, stp, even tried a heavier weight oil still nothing. I had it stethoscoped by a certified mechanic and listened to it myself the ticking is audible on the oil pan bolt as well as on the engine on the drivers side front up top by the heads and exhaust. When you start the engine it is perfectly silent however once it is warmed up it starts ticking. engine accelerates fine and oil pressure is fine as well. I am a college student and am of limited means and cannot afford to repalce the truck at this time however I can afford to fix it if I can pin-point the issue. it is a 1995 blazer 4.3 vortec with 123000 miles any and all help is greatly appreciated im running out of ideas.

Old 04-02-2012, 01:06 AM
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough

Have you ever done a tune up? What octane of gas are you running?

Old 04-02-2012, 01:26 PM
Chuk Rhodes is on a distinguished road

Without getting into describing different tick sounds, I had one that was loose exhaust header bolts. Guess it was only leaking around one exhaust port. They kept coming loose, new bolts finally fixed that.

Old 04-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Beginning Member

yes I tuned it up last year new plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor button. I am very **** about my vehicle maintenance if the oil stays in the engine 100 miles over 3000 I go nuts. truck has a k&n cold air intake on it to and I run regular unleaded gas in it im not sure of the octane think its 87?

Old 04-02-2012, 09:28 PM