Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Intake Gasket Issue 4.3L

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2022, 02:17 PM
StormBlazerJon is on a distinguished road
Default Intake Gasket Issue 4.3L

Hey guys, I've seen some pretty fantastic help on here, and now I need some myself. I'm new to the Blazer community and have a 2004 Blazer with the 4.3L and 253K miles. Recently bought it as a project car. Long story short, there has been oil and occasionally coolant leaking from the front of the engine. I determined that the intake gaskets were bad and needed to be replaced. I also did the valve covers.

I proceeded to take it apart to replace the gaskets. I did both upper and lower gaskets. I will admit, I was sloppy on a few things...for example I guesstimated on torque when putting it back together and didn't polish dirt and corrosion off of mating surfaces, just wiped with brake clean. Anywho, I get everything back together and connected, go to start the truck, and it wasn't able to start. When I held the key, it held very low rpm and would not start. Eventually, the engine locked up. After I pulled the dipstick, I saw a LOT of coolant in the oil pan and upon pulling spark plugs, found a crap ton of coolant in 4 of the 6 cylinders. After removed the coolant from cylinders, the engine spun again by hand, so it was hydrolocked. I removed all coolant and oil from the oil pan, and shockingly there was somehow a gallon of coolant in the oil pan.