Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Kickdown cable

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2018, 07:16 PM
Beginning Member
Gaberoberson is on a distinguished road
Default Kickdown cable

hey guys, so im not really good with motors so i need some help. Im new to this whole forum thing as well. I just bought a 91 s10 blazer with a 4.3 l vortec v6. I was just messing around under the hood and i saw this thing just dangeling. Later my friend told me it was the transmission knockdown cable. I filed it down so it would fit on there, but realized when i step on the gas it doesnt pull it at all cause its being pulled from the left. If anyone can help tell me whats going on here and where this goes it well help a whole lot. Thanks in advance.

Old 07-17-2018, 10:06 AM
LesMyer will become famous soon enough

The actualy wire cable fastened with the black zip tie in the photo is the transmission kickdown cable. IIRC the rod with the long slot is for the cruise control.

Old 07-17-2018, 12:25 PM
Beginning Member
Default Kickdown connector

Thank you! So what kind of connector should i get for it and how to adjust it. My truck has a hard time shifting from 1st to 2nd. It revs real hugh and then kicks to 2nd.

Old 07-17-2018, 04:45 PM

Originally Posted by Gaberoberson
Thank you! So what kind of connector should i get for it and how to adjust it. My truck has a hard time shifting from 1st to 2nd. It revs real hugh and then kicks to 2nd.
Time for a trip to the junkyard to see what it's supposed to have. Need to have the proper hookup before you can adjust it correctly.

Old 07-19-2018, 12:28 AM
Starting Member
Fixxer is on a distinguished road