Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

New guy needs tranny help

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2011, 09:54 PM
Attnhor is on a distinguished road
Default New guy needs tranny help

Hello all. New to the forum, first post right here.

So..... I have a 1997 s-10 blazer. 2wd. 4l60e.

Just got it about a month ago. had some wiring issues at the vcm. I am an electrician by trade so fixing the wires was easy. Now i am having tranny problems. Hopefully someone can help me.

Heres my problem, While the key is "on" the shift indicator light on the dash works in all gears and fuse #24 is fine.

When its running, in park, and i shift to "R", the fuse blows.

If i start in "N" i can shift into "OD" "D" and "2" But if i go into first, fuse #24 blows.

Also if i start in "N" and go into reverse, the fuse also blows.

Ive read alot of posts on here and another site, but have not come accross this specific problem.

I have all the codes of the tcc/pmw or whaever being bad, but i assume those would also come up if the tranny lost power via the fuse blowing.

Also, if i unplugged the harness on the passenger side of the tranny, i can start it and shift thru every gear without blowing the fuse. By that alone i figure its internal, BUT, which soleniod controls 1st and reverse?

Any help is greatly appriciated. i would love to get this thing on the road. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-31-2011, 10:25 PM
TZFBird is on a distinguished road

Taken from swartlkk:
The shift solenoids (A & B) control fluid flow in the transmission to make the necessary shifts. In 1st, both A & B are energized. For 2nd, B is energized. For 3rd, neither are energized, and for 4th, A is energized. Also, the 3-2 solenoid is energized in all but 1st gear.