Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

carb identifier?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2011, 02:36 PM
litterbug will become famous soon enough
Default carb identifier?

i have a 74 k5. its the cheyenne edition and it has the 350 in it. i really need help figuring out what carb is in it so i can get a rebuild kit for it. it pools up every time i shut it off. i know it says carter on it and it says quadrajet on it but im not sure if its a rochester or what. i have no experience with identifying these things or even working with them but i will learn soon enough.

thanks to anyone who helps.

Old 09-09-2011, 07:32 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Throughout the history of the Quadrajet, Rochester was the main manufacturer, but when demand exceeded the production capabilities, Rochester subcontracted Carter to meet demand. The only difference between the Carter & Rochester is the name cast into the side of the bowl section of the carb.

Check the link below to properly identify the carb:
Rochester Quadrajet Identification - The Carb Doctor

Old 09-10-2011, 01:43 AM

it definatly is a rochester then. do you have any idea what model it is or what rebuild kit i would need to do? i know you did something to yours to make it work better or something like that. mine was totally dirty and i cleaned it up a bit with some carb cleaner. that was about it.

i need some guidance when it comes to this...

Old 09-10-2011, 02:24 PM
Administrator