Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Fuel Pump...

  #1  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:02 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 23
blrob5 is on a distinguished road
Default Fuel Pump...

Long story short, replaced the fuel pump and sending unit in November. truck has been sitting since then, never started it, just dropped the tank, put the pump in and left it alone since I wouldn't be driving it as I had to take it off the road. Put gas in it last Sunday and it wouldn't turnover. It would crank, but nothing. No sound from the pump. Put some gas down the TBI and it would run for about 15 seconds. Changed the relay, checked the fuse, both good. Checked power to the pump, good. On the pump side, it would seem that it isn't getting power.

Questions:

1-Should I check the ground? Would this cause the pump not to energize?

2-Could the connector be wrong coming from the pump?

3-Where is the best place to ground it other than the original location?

4-I bought the sending unit and pump from Rock Auto as a whole. Can I just purchase a pump to use with sending unit as it would seem that the pump is bad?

All help is greatly appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:44 PM
Ryanmatt135's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Posts: 586
Ryanmatt135 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

1. yes check the gound with a self powered test light or across the Pump (+) and (-) terminals, a bad ground will cause no opperatiuon of the pump.

2. yes, i installed a new sending unit in a s10 and the wires to the pump were *** backwards (pump ran, just in the oppisite direction)

3. the original location IS the best place to ground it. assuming that the wiring is good, if not, you should repace the bad wire and keep all connector locations and wire locations the same.

4. yes you can just buy the pump alone. napa sells just the pump for around $50
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:02 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 23
blrob5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Ryan!!!
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-2010, 11:00 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 23
blrob5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the help Ryan. Turned out that I had to clean(grind) the area where the ground tightned to the frame and replace the self tapping screw. Now just gotta figure out why my windshield wipers come on and my radio cuts off after going over a bump. Probably that multifunction switch!!!
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-2010, 12:06 PM
Ryanmatt135's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Syracuse, New York
Posts: 586
Ryanmatt135 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i had problems with my wipers too, would start and stop randomly, had to resolder the pulse board, that was on my 98, it may apply to your 92 also... https://blazerforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36236
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
BouncingRadical
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
14
11-27-2015 12:30 AM
cide
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
1
11-07-2009 01:26 PM
upblazer95
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
4
03-08-2009 07:15 PM
Lckyctch
Engine & Transmission
5
12-30-2007 05:38 PM
mytruck2
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
11
12-13-2006 04:50 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Fuel Pump...


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.