Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

New to the K5s

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2009, 12:51 AM
moving2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New to the K5s

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the K5 community and I've spent quite a bit of time reading these forums- an excellent resource! I'd like to ask some questions.
I currently own a '97 Landcruiser and I'm looking to buy an '87-91 K5 Blazer 6.2L Diesel w/ 3.08 gears and 700R4 OD tranny. Planning 31-33" A/T tires, daily driver and occasional mild-moderate offroad use.

1. What price range am I looking at (approx)?

2. Where are some good places to look for one? I'm currently checking: ebay, craigslist, cars.com, autotrader.com, aol autos.

3. Is this combination hard to find (specifically the 3.08 axles with 700R4 tranny)?

4. What are some typical fuel economy numbers with this setup, and how much greater fuel economy does the 700R4 give you over the TH400 tranny?

5. I'm finding a lot of ex-Military M1009 rigs advertised with very low miles (like 15k - 30k miles). Is this listed mileage generally believable or has the odometer likely rolled over? Considering I'd want to make this a DD and add interior upholstery, A/C, convert to 12V, etc. do you think I should consider one of these trucks, or hold out for a civilian unit? What are some pros/cons on these Military trucks?

6. How hard / expensive is it to add A/C to the military (M1009?) or civilian rigs I'm finding without A/C?

7. I've read the 700R4 tranny was revised from '87 onward to be more reliable. Is this true, and are there "best" years for the 6.2L diesel?

8. What is the typical lifetime of the 6.2L engine and 87-91 tranny?

9. What are some common problem areas for these trucks (other than rust)?

10. Is it common to swap a 4L80E tranny behind a 6.2L in order to get a more reliable OD tranny and is this difficult / costly?