Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Racing push button start

  #1  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:21 PM
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,166
Spectreblazer is on a distinguished road
Default Racing push button start

im starting to do some brainstorming on what i want to do for my starting setup, right now there is 2 toggle switches for a constant power to a secondary switch that controls the start, so if you leave this one switch on it continually cranks the starter even after the truck is running. the key switch is only used to bypass the neutral saftey and to get it out of park. im looking at changing it to a push button with a toggle and an indicator light. here is what im thinking of gettting http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...32745969809952

or is there a better one out there?
also could anyone give me a general overview of what im going to be hooking up. thanks guys. any suggestions always appreciated.

*i would have posted this in general tech, but its currently down.
 
  #2  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:36 PM
AJBert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In the Colorado mountains
Posts: 2,389
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough
Default

Sounds like the previous owner bypass the ingition switch rather than fix it. Pretty simple to install a push button start but not sure I can explain it on here. From what you've decsribe, the first toggle is the same as putting the key into the run postion, the second is the same as moving the key to start. Just replace the second toggle with a push button start and you should be good to go.
 
  #3  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:38 PM
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,166
Spectreblazer is on a distinguished road
Default

so if i was to buy the one on ebay the red toggle would be the equivalent of a kill switch. right?
 
  #4  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:44 PM
abig84's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: munster indiana
Posts: 3,426
abig84 will become famous soon enoughabig84 will become famous soon enough
Default

Lol my first truck was the same way. I just used a big bush button. Just swap out your switch with a button. Make sure it can handle the amps
 
  #5  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:45 PM
Banned
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,166
Spectreblazer is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by abig84 View Post
Lol my first truck was the same way. I just used a big bush button. Just swap out your switch with a button. Make sure it can handle the amps
alright thanks, how big of a fuse should i go 30-40amps?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
buggyblazer
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
14
12-23-2008 08:22 PM
DOUGHboy79
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
2
08-13-2008 04:54 PM
88jimmah
1st Gen S-series (1983-1994) Tech
21
01-08-2008 01:37 AM
cwiththehad
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
2
08-04-2007 12:00 PM
trudynosports
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
1
09-29-2005 12:36 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Racing push button start


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.