Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Stock Suspension?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2012, 05:14 AM
Brandon 87K5 is on a distinguished road
Default Stock Suspension?

Hey everyone, my name is Brandon and I'm new to the forums, and i got a quick question.

I have a Full size 87 K5 blazer and i recently upgraded to 37" Cooper Discoverer STI's. Im going to be getting it lifted here in the next couple months, as the passenger side right tire rubs when i make sharp right turns. I want to be able to take this thing through some mud and get dirty with it, im just concerned about whether or not it will be strong enough to take the beating. Im fairly new to the 4 wheeling scene, as im only 19 and have had my license for about a year. I come from a family that has experience with this stuff, my mom drag raced her 67' Camaro RS, And my dad truck pulled in his old chevy which unfortunately was stolen before i was born. My main question is this:
Considering that everything is mostly stock on the truck, with the exception of the rear end which i just had replaced(now has a 10 or 12 bolt Posi i believe,) what kind of mudding do you guys think my truck could handle? i believe the leaf springs are about ten years old or so, and other than that everything is stock. I Really appreciate the help guys!!
-Brandon

Old 10-28-2012, 03:25 PM
duxtoyz is on a distinguished road

stock rigs r only as strong as their weakest point. i would bet it would b safe to say u can do pretty much what ever u feel comfortable with. i wouldnt try and mud drags with it or anything, but if u wanna do sum mud holes in ur neighborhood woods i wouldnt see any issue with that. and with 37s u should b good.

Old 10-28-2012, 04:41 PM

Originally Posted by duxtoyz