Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

transmission or transfer case?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 10:58 AM
Beginning Member
cleiser25 is on a distinguished road
Default transmission or transfer case?

i drove my k5 to get the tag put on it ran a small errand on my way home truck wasnt giving a lick of trubble and when i pulled onto my road leading to my house i went to hit the gas to continue down my road and the rpms just rise and no power to wheels when you put it in park it sounds like it is grinding and will not engauge the transmission or something putting it in to gear again you can hear the transmission shifting but no output i put it in 4h and 4L but nothing. i am very good with tools and my hands but i have little knowledge about diagnosing problems with vehicles i can fix them once i know what is wrong tipically though if anyone has any thoughts they would be greatly appreciated. ohh and the transmission fluid looked good as well.

Old 04-20-2009, 11:13 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Could you give us an idea of what it is you are working on? Year, engine, transmission, and transfer case would be nice. From your other post, I can see you have an 1983 which, if the transfer case is stock, it should have the NP208 transfer case. In the future, please put this information in your signature and attach it to all of your posts.