General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

4.3 longevity and blazer reliablity

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2007, 02:03 PM
artsound is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 4.3 longevity and blazer reliablity

Thinking of buying 2000-2004 4dr blazer with the 4.3 --I am new to chevy and blazers both and am wondering how reliable you guys find them and how many miles you can expect from a well maintained 4.3--are there any common things to watch out for in purchasing a used Blazer?

Old 05-07-2007, 02:09 PM
Administrator
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation
Default RE: 4.3 longevity and blazer reliablity

Well, I have owned 3 blazers. A 92 2dr 4x4 with 238000 miles on it before the body went.
A 1996 2dr 4x4 that had 175000 before my dad changed the oil and didnt put the plug back in and killed the motor, and my 1997 that I still have with 178xxx miles on it. Only thing that i have really replaced was the fuel pump and AC compressor.

Ball joints seems to be a failure point, not sure if they have fixed that on newer models.

Old 05-07-2007, 02:28 PM
Blazer Forum 2009 Ride of the Year Winner
nj4x4blaze has a spectacular aura aboutnj4x4blaze has a spectacular aura about

Balljoints are still problems on the new models. I have a 2001 and at 70,000 miles i had to replace both driver and passenger side balljoints.

Old 05-08-2007, 12:25 AM
BF Veteran
blazinloud is an unknown quantity at this point

oil cooler lines seems like a common problem also. and pretty much the entire front end should be looked at.

Old 05-08-2007, 02:53 AM
Mr Blazer LT is an unknown quantity at this point