General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

Hello!

Old 10-31-2007, 02:52 PM
Dhurteau is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Hello!

Alright. Im new here. I know VERY LITTLE about the 4.3l engines, as I was a lexus driver untill an accident last week. I am now the happy owner of a 1999 4wheel drive chevy blazer. I have to say admitly I used to make fun of this truck, for the reason it seemed so cheap. Before the 1996 lexus es300 I had. I owned a 1993 chevy blazer. Fullsize. 350smallblock. Loved that truck.

I have a few questions.

There are two tow hooks in the very front of the truck, and a green plastic bit around it. Is it possiable to take the plastic bit off. to help it look more 4x4? And if i do take it off. Will it perform different (everythings on a vehical for a reason)

I was also wondering. Is there a way you can strap a spair to the roof? Im not talking mcgyver with rope and such. Im talking real mounts.

Is there anything I can do to help increase full millage? I used to get 17-24 out of the 350small block because alot of modifications my father and I made to it, IE spacer plate etc. throtle position, idel etc.

Also, what can i look for in average gas milage in one of these things?

And are there any cheap mods that can be done to the engine etc.

At some point i plan on making it a real 4x4. Is that recomended? Do they hold up well?

Sorry for all the questions. I have little understanding about the chevy engines other then a small block. And whatever I knew with my rebadged toyota, is probablly useless here.

ANOTHER THING.

Anyone recomend the k&n cold air intake for this? Or stay stock.

Thanks! and I hope to learn alot.

Old 10-31-2007, 03:22 PM