General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

A newb whose very thankful for Blazer forum!

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2012, 10:50 PM
Beginning Member
rviolette84 is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up A newb whose very thankful for Blazer forum!

I'm a Toyota tech by occupation and a couple days ago traded my 98 vw jetta for a 98 Blazer 160k miles. Truck is in very good condition and so far I'm content with the trade. Brought the Blazer in the shop today, got it up on the lift and proceeded to do a fluid change. Oil, both diffs, transfer case, tranny. Everything went perfect, except for the transfer case. Pulled the top fill plug and out came at least two qts of atf. Completely in shock I immediately hit the Web and in no time, thanks to you guys on here, found that the rear output shaft seal is a very common problem. I topped off the T-case, and threw in a bottle of Lucas tranny fix when I filled the tranny. On my next day off I'm ripping the transfer case off and replacing the seal. Now here's my only remaining dilemma; there seems to be a great deal of confusion concerning whether it's a transmission output shaft seal, or a transfer case input(inner) shaft seal. ANY help in pointing me in the right direction as to the right and correct seal that I need would be much appreciated. Really don't wanna have the T-case off and come to see I've got the wrong seal. Thanks for all your help up until now, guys! So awesome to see these groups of hardcores!

Old 12-15-2012, 10:54 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

To replace the seal between the tcase and the tail shaft of the tranny the Tcase has to come down... Id change both while your in there... DO the job once and youll never have to pull it off again unless the seals screw up again. But thats doubtful If the job is done correctly.