General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

transmission interchange?

 
 
 
 
  #1  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:37 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
MIKE82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default transmission interchange?

i have a 96 4.3 chevy blazer. the trans has felt weak since i bought it a year ago. it slips pretty bad going from 1st to 2nd. my question is: will a trans from a 96 chevy caprice work? my blazer has 4 wheel peel. i'm pretty sure i'd have to change the tailshaft. i haven't really looked it over all that well. i was given a known good trans from a 96 or so caprice. other than a quick glance to see if the pans were the same,(which they are) i haven't looked into how much is involved.

if anyone has any info, it would be greatly appreciated. i'm hoping to do this before the snow flys around here. i don't want to drive my mustang for more than a couple days while the blazer is down. thanks in advance

mike
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:55 PM
Super Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,539
4lowlife is on a distinguished road
Default RE: transmission interchange?

Welcome MIKE82. I dont know if they are interchangeable. But here is what I would look for.

Is the Caprice tranny a 4L60E?

How many bolts on the bell housing on the Caprice?

If not a matching bolt pattern, (Block to the tranny.) Is the bell housing bolted to the rest of the tranny? (Like a 2 piece, seperate bell housing....)

Some these you can look/figure for yourself. Give it a day here and a more knowledgeable member will answer too. Good luck!
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-2006, 06:49 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
MIKE82 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: transmission interchange?

it is a 4l60-e
 
  #4  
Old 11-15-2006, 02:16 AM
BF Veteran
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 3,891
Hanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond reputeHanr3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: transmission interchange?

the trans will work after you swap out the output shaft and the tailhousing for the t-case adapter. Pretty straight forward to swap out the output shaft.
 
 
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
garyrsch
Engine & Transmission
2
08-17-2010 10:52 AM
DFINE160
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
9
12-07-2009 12:17 PM
eelding
Engine & Transmission
1
04-26-2007 12:20 PM
MNHawk
Paint, Body, & Interior
2
12-21-2006 09:38 PM
ginobass
General Tech Help
2
09-11-2006 05:16 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: transmission interchange?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.