Lifting Tech This section is for suspension questions related to increasing the ride height of your vehicle.

shackles and t bar

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2009, 12:02 PM
Beginning Member
zippy199 is on a distinguished road
Default shackles and t bar

i am planing on t bar cranking my blazer and i am seeing a lot of people talking about shackles. 1st what are shackles? 2nd do i need them if i t bar crank my truck? thank you. i am a super noob when it comes to this stuff. i did search.

Old 07-06-2009, 12:28 PM
Beginning Member
PyroCustoms is on a distinguished road

shackles make your rear leaf springs connecting point lower equaling in your rear of the truck raising. shackles can be found at advanced for about 40 bucks i believe and they have 3 diff mounting points for high middle and a little bit of raise. But be careful with doing the fron t bar no more then 4-5 cranks if you need to do your front you can get the clamps from advanced that seperate your cprings of the big rubber groumets

Old 07-06-2009, 06:47 PM
BF Veteran
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by PyroCustoms
shackles make your rear leaf springs connecting point lower equaling in your rear of the truck raising. shackles can be found at advanced for about 40 bucks i believe and they have 3 diff mounting points for high middle and a little bit of raise. But be careful with doing the fron t bar no more then 4-5 cranks if you need to do your front you can get the clamps from advanced that seperate your cprings of the big rubber groumets
Well...almost...

Shackles raise your rear end because they are longer than the stock shackles that are currently on your truck. They do not make the "connecting" points higher or lower on the leaf spring, they increase the height between the rear of the leaf spring and the frame.